Levels of Disability Claim Appeals 

Did you know, the Social Security Administration denies approximately 7 out of 10 applications for disability assistance? After a denial, applicants may choose to appeal the decision. There are four levels of the disability claim appeal process:

Level 1: Reconsideration

A reconsideration can be filed online for claims that were denied due to medical or non-medical causes. An SSA representative who did not conduct your original review will perform the reconsideration and make an independent decision on the appeal.

Level 2: Hearing by an Administrative Law Judge

If a reconsideration does not result in your favor, you may choose to request a hearing with an administrative law judge. The request for a hearing must be made within 60 days of the most recent denial of your claim. Scheduling and preparing for a hearing can take a very long time— many hearings take nearly a year to schedule and complete.

You will be expected to provide all relevant evidence to the judge prior to the hearing. An attorney can help you navigate this process. The SSA states, “You are not required to have a representative, but if you wish to appoint a representative we recommend you do so as early as possible.”

Level 3: Appeals Council Review

If you would like to challenge the decision made by the administrative law judge, the next step is a review by the Social Security’s Appeals Council. The Appeals Council has the option to conduct the review, deny your request, or return the claim to the judge for another review.

Level 4: Federal Court Review

This is the highest level of appeal, and it is rare. You may request that a federal court issue a final decision on your claim, which the court may or may not agree to do. You will likely need legal assistance to file a court action. 

If you are considering an appeal, or have an appeal in process, The Roose & Ressler Team would be honored to help you with your claim. We are experienced at knowing which documents are needed to support your case, and we can help you navigate paperwork, answer your questions, and provide support throughout the process. 

The Roose & Ressler Team is located in Lorain, Toledo, and Wooster, Ohio. You can count on us as your local disability specialist to analyze your case thoroughly to determine what is necessary for you to receive benefits. We assess the best methods on how to prove the crucial facts of your case and gather the necessary evidence. Having 40+ years of experience serving Northern Ohioans, we know the ins and outs of the local disability process.

Access our free tool:

Guide to Preparing and Applying for
Social Security Disability

For something this important, trust the team that knows.

We know our way around the process. We know what works and what doesn’t. We know specifically how to handle cases in northern Ohio and have four locations to serve you.

Hiring Roose & Ressler can alleviate the feeling of being alone throughout the process. We act as your point person and will be here to answer all your questions. We’ll make sure you meet the necessary deadlines and requirements for the appeals process.

If you’re ready to get started, call us for a free consultation.